So. Hannibal 1×04: ‘Ceuf’. Aka you lucky people over there who actually get to see the clips of this.

Living in the good old UK as I do, I have so far been unable to reap the delights of the mini series that has been put together out of all the really good bits from ‘Ceuf’. Even when it’s posted on Youtube.

Grrrr.

No doubt I will eventually be able to view the miniseries – and the parent episode that was pulled – in both their entirety at some point in the future. But until then, what I have seen leads me to suspect that Bryan Fuller and the team have rather taken the possibility that they won’t be able to use Clarice Starling in future seasons in their stride. And that they have said words to the effect of ‘Well, we’ve got the rights, let’s go wild!’

Yes, spoilers for Hannibal (the book), Hannibal drugs and mentally re-educates Clarice at the end of it – sort of – and they have a romantic dinner eating someone’s brains.

But he was a sexist corrupt (and fictional) arse-hole, so that’s all right.

Hannibal’s drugging of Abigail with mushroom tea is certainly an interesting way to continue a relationship. Then again, this is a relationship where one of her not really adopted dads killed her biological dad, and her other adopted dad helped her hide the body of the man she killed. I believe the magic mushrooms are almost a step down in craziness at this point…

…riiiight up until Abigail starts hallucinating that Lecter and Dr Bloom are her father and mother, and she gets that wonderful disconcerting smile on her face as she says that she sees ‘family’.

I’m just fascinated to see where this is going to go. Is Lecter going to mold her in his image, as another serial killer? Is Lecter a serial killer at this point? We’ve only seen two of his (quite probable) victims on screen, but that doesn’t mean he hasn’t been indulging his palette for quite a while before the season began. Or is he – gulp – going to try and turn Abigail into Mischa?

Spoilers again: Hannibal (the book) and Hannibal Rising reveal that our beloved cannibal had a little sister called Mischa – awww! – who was eaten by starving Nazi deserters – aaaaaa – and little Hannibal might unwittingly eaten bits of her as well – urrrrrrgh – and oh, he wants his little sister back.

So much so, in fact, that he tries to brainwash Clarice into believing she’s her.

Yeah, Hannibal is a very strange book.

Or is Lecter trying to see what makes her tick? As he seems to be doing with Will, judging by his close examination of Will’s home, underwear drawer and fishing tackle when he visits to feed the dogs. I notice the rather telling pricking of his finger, and the sucking of his own blood. Honestly, you should be more careful, Hannibal! You work with sharp objects a lot, after all!

And how is Abigail going to react if she finds out that Lecter has been doing as her daddy did before him, and feeding her human flesh? Will she accept it? Will she rebel? Will she get addicted? (I don’t know if she finds out in the episode, this is all conjecture, but it’s oh so intriguing.)

Also, Crawford brings his wife over for dinner at Lecter’s – again, I highly anticipate the scene when everyone realizes Lecter’s a cannibal and Crawford remembers how much suddenly suspicious meat he ate. That’ll be a fun scene, I’m sure. I am so glad that Gina Torres is in this series; she is a gorgeous person and I can’t wait to see her…

…in whatever episode she is after this one that I haven’t  technically seen yet.

GRRRRRR.

By the way, I respect that Lecter is sensible enough not to keep giving his guests ‘pork’ all the time, but could you honestly disguise human flesh enough that you could pass it off as rabbit? I’m not being dismissive, I do actually want to know if that’s possible – although for the sake of the argument we’ll use pork rather than human flesh as our test subject. Any suggestions?

Also, is Bloom being rather flirtatious with Lecter? Did she – possibly – have a student mentor crush? This will just make things even more interesting, and possibly more dangerous.

What am I saying? Quite probably more dangerous.

So, now that we – or all those of you in America, technically – have savored all the meaty bits of ‘Ceuf’, bring on ‘Coquilles’ (which, according to the wonderful Wiki of Pedia means scallops, yum) with manufactured angels on strings!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. nuzzat says:

    I also live in the UK and I want to know when the mini series will be shown here. I have not read the books yet but researched in wiki, but I am not sure if I want to read it, not because it is too crazy it is only that I don’t need that crazy in my nice Muslim mind. what you wrote above is really funny that Hannibal might make Abigail in to Micsha . I love the first episode of Hannibal but did not like the second or third that much but I can only wonder what the forth one is like. I hope it gets better.

    1. Isn’t it terrible when we have to wait for American television? Even though we get Game of Thrones the day after, but since I don’t have Sky Atlantic…

      I do recommend you try the books – they’re not nearly as crazy as I make them out to be!…well, ‘Red Dragon’ and ‘The Silence of the Lambs’ are relatively normal; ‘Hannibal’ is rather decadent. But they are rather violent in places.

      😀 I;m glad you like my bit on Mischa! ‘Hannibal’ is a very, VERY strange book.

      I agree that the second and third episodes aren’t as striking as the first one, but I do think the story is going to pick up soon; it looks like the plot might really start moving forward in episode 6. Or 5, or …episode numbers in this series are confusing.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Keri says:

    New reader here. I’m in love with this show, and I particularly like the characterization of Dr. Bloom. Do you think the scene where Abigail sees Alana and Lecter as her mother and father could possible be foreshadowing? I certainly hope not because we know that would be…bad…for Alana.

    1. I really like the way they’ve done Bloom too; intelligent and caring but also with a hard, practical side.

      Ooo, that scene. Brrr. Very ominous! I think, if nothing else, it’s a hint that Abigail will be twisted further by Hannibal later on in the season. Whether Alana will be a part of that or not, we have yet to see…although there is her growing connection with Lecter, and with Abigail’s ‘other father’, Will – who knows what happen?

      I think Alana’s safe from Hannibal, at least – he clearly likes her, and doesn’t think she’s rude!

Leave a Reply

